Georgia DUI Lawyer
If you or a loved one has been charged with a DUI, contact a DUI lawyer as soon as possible. In Georgia, driving under the influence (DUI) is a misdemeanor criminal offense. If charged with DUI, you will face jail time, license suspension, probation, DUI school, community service higher auto insurance rates, plus a conviction that will stay on your criminal records for the rest of your life! You need to consult a Georgia DUI lawyer to understand your rights.
To have a fair chance of winning your case, you need an experienced lawyer. At George McCranie Law Firm, we are experienced DUI attorneys serving clients throughout South Georgia with offices in Valdosta and Douglas GA. Call us today for a free and confidential consultation.
DUI Issues We Can Help You With
We have helped many clients deal with all aspects of Georgia DUI charges, including the following:
DUI Breath Tests
If you failed a breath test we can help you challenge the results. If you refuse a breath test we can help you avoid the penalties for breath test refusal.
DUI Blood Tests
If you have been charged with a DUI, you may be subjected to a blood test. We are experienced at challenging blood test results as well as winning this type of case. Remember, hiring an experienced Georgia DUI Lawyer can change the game in your favor.
If you’ve been pulled over for a DUI and given a DS form 1205, you need to request a hearing in writing within 30 days. If your attorney fails to request this hearing, you can expect on an administrative suspension of your driver’s license.
A second offense DUI carries enhanced penalties including a mandatory jail sentencing, 30 days of community service, complete a clinical evaluation for Drug & Alcohol dependency, and a 3-year suspension of your GA Drivers License. Fines are also included, and you must pay for a DUI Risk Reduction Program and associated probation fees.
Commercial Driver DUI
If you rely on a commercial driver’s license for your livelihood, you need an experienced attorney who is prepared to take every opportunity to fight your charges. At The George McCranie Law Firm we understand that you and your family’s livelihood are at stake. No other Georgia DUI Lawyer will fight for you like we will.
If your child has been charged with a DUI, a conviction could have a long-term educational and employment consequences. Furthermore, the conviction will remain on their Georgia Criminal History for the rest of their life! We can help you fight these charges!
Drug Related DUI
If you have been charged with driving under the influence of illegal or prescription drugs, we have the experience to help you challenge the prosecution’s evidence and get you the best results.
The George McCranie law firm was founded in 1998, Mr. McCranie spent years as a prosecutor for the state of Georgia. He learned how to handle all types of DUI and criminal cases. Since then, he has used this knowledge and experience to help clients protect their rights and avoid criminal penalties all over South Georgia.
What Constitutes a DUI?
A DUI is a charge for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. You may get a DUI if you have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of at least .08% or more within three hours of being in physical control of a vehicle. The maximum BAC for someone under the age of 21 is .02%. However, you may also get a DUI if you are “impaired,” which means you are impacted by drugs or alcohol “to the extent that it is less safe for the person to drive.” Thus, if you took drugs or drank alcohol in any amount and seem to be impaired, then you may get a DUI.
You do not have to be actually driving a vehicle to get a DUI. You must be “in physical control of a vehicle.” That means that you are in a situation where you could drive the car easily. If you are sitting in your car with the keys in the ignition, then you may be in physical control of the vehicle. If you were arrested, but you were not driving your vehicle, you should immediately contact a DUI lawyer who can help you understand your rights.
Can I Refuse a Breathalyzer Test in Georgia?
When you are stopped for a DUI, you may be asked to take a breathalyzer or blood test to determine your BAC. These chemical tests are supposed to test the amount of alcohol in your breath or blood and assess your level of intoxication. However, they are extremely unreliable. There are many medications and health conditions that can trigger inaccurate chemical tests. Even the passing of time can result in questionable tests. Some people wonder if they should refuse a breathalyzer or blood test.
You should know that although you can deny a breathalyzer or blood test that is taken without a warrant, you may face administrative penalties for refusal. Penalties include the following:
- First Refusal Offense – Up to one year driver’s license suspension
- Second Refusal Offense – Up to three years of driver’s license suspension
- Third Refusal Offense – Up to give years of driver’s license suspension
When you are arrested, you should immediately ask to speak with a DUI lawyer. It can be difficult to know what you should do after an arrest. Consult with an attorney who can help you through the process.
DUI Penalties in Georgia
If you are convicted of a DUI in Georgia, you may face serious penalties, including jail time. Penalties for DUI include:
- First Offense DUI – Up to 24 hours in jail
- Second Offense DUI – Up to three days in jail
- Third Offense DUI – Up to 15 days in jail
Most DUIs in Georgia are misdemeanors; however, a third or higher DUI may be charged as a felony in certain circumstances.
When determining which level of offense you will be charged with, Georgia will count all DUI convictions in the past 10 years. This is called a “look back” period. Thus, if you have had a prior DUI five years ago, your current charge would be for a second DUI. However, if you had a DUI 15 years ago, it would not count towards your DUI count. You would be charged with a first offense DUI.
If you’ve been charged with a first or multiple DUI offense, you should immediately contact a DUI lawyer who can help you understand the law and your specific situation. You may have options other than jail time or other criminal penalties. An attorney can help you avoid the harshest penalties.
Ignition Interlock Devices in Georgia
If you are convicted of a DUI, you may be required to use an ignition interlock device (IID). In fact, for a second DUI offense within five years, you are typically required to use an IID for up to one year. An IID can give you the ability to drive again; however, it can also be extremely expensive. To learn more about your options with an IID, contact a DUI lawyer as soon as possible.
An IID is a mechanical device that is attached to your dash. When you attempt to start the car, you will be directed to blow into the IID. If your BAC is over .08%, then you will be prohibited from driving your car. However, like traditional breathalyzers, these devices can be extremely unreliable.
Pleading a DUI Down to a Wet Reckless in Georgia
In many states, you can plead a DUI down to a lower charge of a “wet reckless,” which carries much lower penalties and less stigma than a DUI. However, in Georgia this type of plea bargain is against the law. Although you cannot plead down to a wet reckless, you may have other options. Contact a DUI lawyer if you want to seek a plea bargain or attempt to negotiate your DUI charge.
Contact a DUI Lawyer at The George McCranie Law Firm
If you have been pulled over for DUI, you have 30 days to protect your driver’s license, from an administrative suspension. You also face serious criminal penalties, such as jail time, fines, and mandatory IID use. You need to act quickly to hire an experienced attorney to protect you. To schedule a free initial consultation with a DUI lawyer, please contact our office.