Georgia DUI License Suspension
Helping You Keep Your Driver’s License After a DUI Arrest
If charged with DUI in Georgia, one of the most serious potential consequences you face is DUI license suspension. License suspension can make it difficult or impossible for you to drive to work and go about your daily life.
I am George McCranie IV, a Coffee County suspended license attorney helping clients in southeast Georgia fight DUI charges in criminal and administrative proceedings. If you retain me as your lawyer, I will do whatever I can to help you keep your driver’s license.
Did the Police Give You a 10-Day Letter? If So, Call an Attorney Today.
If the police took your driver’s license during a DUI stop, they should have given you an administrative license suspension (ALS) letter. The ALS letter is also known as a 10-day letter. The letter provides information on how to request a driver’s license hearing from the Department of Driver Services (DDS).
Failure to request a hearing within the 10-day deadline and pay the court fees will result in license suspension.
Your hearing is your first opportunity to challenge the evidence against you. Even if you fail to keep your license at this stage, we may able to use the statements law enforcement makes at the hearing to your advantage. We may be able to defeat your DUI charges and get your license back.
If the ALS court suspends your license, I can help you pursue a work permit so you can drive to work. I can also help you pursue early reinstatement of your license if you successfully complete a state-approved drug and alcohol class.
DUI License Suspension Reinstatement Fees
In order to reinstate your license after a DUI license suspension, you must pay a reinstatement fee. That fee varies depending on whether your license was suspended for a first, second, or subsequent DUI or other violation. The fee also varies depending on whether you pay in person or via mail.
For a first DUI violation for someone age 21 or over, you will be required to pay $200.00 by mail to reinstate your license. That fee will be $210.00 if you pay in person. If you’ve received a conviction of a second DUI within five years, you will have to pay $300.00 by mail or $310.00 in person. A third DUI within five years will result in a reinstatement fee of $400.00 by mail or $410.00 in person. Additional violations can increase your reinstatement fee and requirements.
Reinstatement Process After a DUI License Suspension
Once your DUI license suspension ends, you will have an opportunity to reinstate your license. You must go through the official process of reinstatement before you are legally able to drive again. You may submit reinstatement documents and a fee either via mail, online, or in person at the Georgia DDS.
Online reinstatement is not yet available for DUI license suspension. It’s only available for failure to appear (FTA) and super speeder license suspension. However, online reinstatement options will be expanded in the future.
If you choose to mail in your fee and paperwork to the Georgia DDS, then you must include the following:
- Payment of all fees (Check, Money Order, or Cashier’s Check made out to Georgia DDS) OR Credit Card Authorization Form
- Official Notice of Suspension (including the court name, disposition, and violation date) OR, if you don’t have your official notice, then include your full name, date of birth, driver’s license number, address, and social security number
- Other applicable documentation, such as a DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Certificate
You should mail all necessary information to the Department of Driver Services (DDS), Validation Unit, Post Office Box 80447, Conyers, Georgia 30013.
If you choose to complete a DUI license reinstatement in person, you may present to a DDS Customer Service Center with the following:
- Proof of identity
- Official Notice of Suspension or other relevant information to look up your DUI license suspension
- Other necessary documents, such as a DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Certificate
- Payment of your fee in full (cash, credit card, check, or other method of payment)
DUI License Suspension Steps
If you are facing a DUI license suspension, reach out to a skilled attorney who can help you with your case. Take the following steps to deal with a DUI license suspension:
- Call an attorney. Contact a Georgia DUI license suspension attorney who can help you get your license reinstated. Your attorney should be familiar with the reinstatement process and walk you through the steps. You can even reach out to an attorney to handle an old DUI license suspension case and manage the Georgia DDS process for you.
- Manage the court process. If your license has not yet been suspended, then your attorney can help you handle the court process to avoid suspension. You may be able to get the court to dismiss your or reduce your sentence.
- Avoid future DUI license suspension. If you have recently had your license reinstated, then you should avoid a future DUI license suspension. Do not drink and drive, and avoid other violations that may result in a license suspension. Subsequent offenses may result in increased time without a license.
The DUI license suspension cycle is a dangerous thing to enter. Often, people who have a suspended license end up with additional time or have their licenses completely revoked due to subsequent violations. Some people attempt to drive with a suspended license, result in additional fines, jail time, and other consequences. Avoid this cycle by abiding by your DUI license suspension and talking to an attorney to regain your ability to drive.
Driving After a DUI License Suspension
If you are caught driving while your license is suspended, then you may be convicted of an additional crime. A first offense is a misdemeanor that may result in up to 12 months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. A second or third offense within five years may be a “high and aggravated misdemeanor,” with a jail sentence of up to 12 months and a fine of up to $2,500. Fourth and subsequent offenses within five years may be considered felonies. The court may sentence you up to five years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000. Driving on a suspended license is taken seriously in Georgia. Avoid the crime by abiding by your suspension and dealing with things appropriately.
Contact a Douglas DUI Attorney
I commit myself to helping my clients avoid or reduce the serious consequences of losing their driving privileges. To discuss your DUI license suspension, please contact my office at 912-209-9293 or by e-mail to schedule a free initial consultation.